Health Sciences

The mission of the Division of Health Sciences is to provide quality classroom, laboratory, and clinical education, and to promote the development of students by preparing them for certification eligibility and entry-level employment in their chosen health career. According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, jobs in healthcare are projected to grow 18 percent from 2016 to 2026, much faster than the average for all occupations.

For the inclement weather policy for health sciences students assigned to a clinical site, click here.

Biotechnology Dr. Lia Walker walkerl@edgecombe.edu
Computed Tomography (CT) Rick Mastman, Program Chair/Consortium Coordinator mastmanr@edgecombe.edu
Division of Health Sciences Bruce Panneton, Dean pannetonb@edgecombe.edu
Dental Assisting Tony Rook, Dean of Enrollment Management rookt@edgecombe.edu
Dental Hygiene Tony Rook, Dean of Enrollment Management rookt@edgecombe.edu
Health Information Technology Nacole T. Everette, MS, RHIA, Program Chair everetten@edgecombe.edu
Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) Rick Mastman, Program Chair/Consortium Coordinator mastmanr@edgecombe.edu
Medical Assisting Kim Byron-Barnes, Program Chair/Clinical Coordinator barnesk@edgecombe.edu
Medical Office Administration Kim Byron-Barnes, Program Chair barnesk@edgecombe.edu
Nursing Barbara Knopp, Program Chair knoppb@edgecombe.edu
Ophthalmic Medical Assistant Kim Byron-Barnes, Program Chair/Clinical Coordinator barnesk@edgecombe.edu
Radiography Desiree Duncan, Program Chair duncand@edgecombe.edu
Respiratory Therapy Tim King, Program Chair kingt@edgecombe.edu
Surgical Technology Suzi Shippen-Wagner, CST, BS, Program Chair shippens@edgecombe.edu