Student Portal


Seventeen Students Named to Honor Society

From left, new Phi Theta Kappa honor society members at Edgecombe Community College are (top row) Caden Barfield, Sydney Bristow-Smith, Cheryl Dianne Bynum, Brinkley Dew, Sarah Ensing, Kimberly Harris, Elise Hines, Felix Jenkins III, Dakota Jones, (bottom row) Nikki Knight-Barnes, Yu Lian Lin, Alanna Moore, Camryn Newcomb, Madison Parkerson, John Taylor, Dustin Van Horne, and Sara West.

Edgecombe Community College’s Alpha Omega Nu chapter of Phi Theta Kappa welcomed seventeen new members into its membership this fall.

Phi Theta Kappa is an honor society for students attending two-year schools.

The organization recently held a virtual induction ceremony. The guest speaker was Rick Basile, chair of Criminal Justice and 2019-2020 Keihin Endowed Faculty Chair recipient. ECC President Dr. Greg McLeod also shared remarks.

Fall 2020 Phi Theta Kappa inductees are:

  • Caden Barfield
  • Sydney Bristow-Smith
  • Cheryl Dianne Bynum
  • Brinkley Dew
  • Sarah Ensing
  • Kimberly Harris
  • Elise Hines
  • Felix Jenkins III
  • Dakota Jones
  • Nikki Knight-Barnes
  • Yu Lian Lin
  • Alanna Moore
  • Camryn Newcomb
  • Madison Parkerson
  • John Taylor
  • Dustin Van Horne
  • Sara West

Tamara Frank-Pourvady, a professional tutor at the College, serves as advisor to the honor society.

To be a member of Phi Theta Kappa, students must have completed 12 credit hours in an associate degree program and have a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher. Students must then maintain at least a 3.25 grade point average to remain in the group.