Student Portal


Rocky Mount Fire Official Joins Board of Trustees

Carol White (left), Edgecombe County Clerk of Court, delivers the oath of office to (l-r) Timmy Cordell, who was recently reappointed to the Edgecombe Community College Board of Trustees; Kim Wittig, who is a new board member; and the Rev. Jerry Spruell, who was reappointed to the board.

Kim Wittig, administrative captain of the Rocky Mount Fire Department and a native of Edgecombe County, has been appointed to a four-year term on the Edgecombe Community College Board of Trustees.

In 2000, Wittig became the first fire and life safety educator for the Rocky Mount Fire Department. She spent the next 17 years in that position teaching and coordinating injury prevention programs throughout the City of Rocky Mount.

While working in this role, she was recognized with the Award of Excellence from the NC Fire and Life Safety Educator’s Association in 2002 and the NC Child Passenger Safety Instructor of the Year in 2012 from the NC Governor’s Highway Safety Program.

In 2017, Wittig was promoted to administrative captain, the first female in the Rocky Mount Fire Department’s 120-year history to achieve the rank of captain. As administrative captain, she performs research and development for administrative projects and management processes that support the department’s planning efforts, and she reviews policies and procedures for existing and new programs.

She also is the department’s lead grant writer and serves as the department’s public information officer.

Wittig is a 1990 graduate of Tarboro High School. She earned a bachelor’s degree in secondary science education with a concentration in chemistry from North Carolina State University. She was the keynote speaker for ECC’s 2020 graduation exercises.

Since 2012, Wittig has served as co-chair of the Distinguished Young Women of Edgecombe County Scholarship program. Under her leadership, the program has awarded more than $67,000 in academic scholarships to young women in Edgecombe County.

“I look forward to serving on the Edgecombe Community College Board of Trustees,” she says. “I hope to help the college continue to be a leader in providing a quality educational experience for all students in our service area.”

“Ms. Wittig will be a strong asset to the college’s Board of Trustees,” says the Rev. Jerry Spruell, chair of the board. “Since she is an Edgecombe native, she understands the community and the needs of its residents. In addition, her work in public safety and with local organizations will be invaluable to the board and to the college as a whole.”

In addition to the appointment of Wittig, the Rev. Jerry Spruell and Timmy Cordell were reappointed to the ECC Board of Trustees for four-year terms.

Rev. Spruell has been a member of the ECC Board of Trustees since 1994. He was reappointed to the board by the Edgecombe County Board of Commissioners. Rev. Spruell is chair of the board’s Executive Committee and is an ex-officio member of the Personnel, Finance, and Buildings and Grounds committees.

He is director of the Edgecombe County Board of Elections. In addition, Rev. Spruell was the keynote speaker for this year’s graduation exercises in May.

Timmy Cordell has served on the board since 2017. He is a member of the Finance Committee. Reappointed to the board by Governor Roy Cooper, Cordell is employed by the Pitt County Department of Social Services in Greenville.

The ECC Board of Trustees has twelve members, each serving a four-year term. The Office of the Governor appoints four members. The Edgecombe County Board of Education and the Edgecombe County Board of Commissioners each appoint four members.