Student Portal


Honor Society Wins Thirteen Awards

Members of the Edgecombe Community College student honor society Phi Theta Kappa are surrounded by the thirteen awards the chapter received at the organization’s regional convention. From left are Margaret Nash (chapter alumna), Hattie Bullock, and Tiffiny Wolf.

Edgecombe Community College’s student honor society won thirteen awards at the recent Phi Theta Kappa Carolinas Regional Convention.

Three students and Advisor Tamara Frank-Pourvady represented ECC’s chapter, Alpha Omega Nu, at the annual convention held March 9-11 in Myrtle Beach, SC. At this conference, chapters and individuals are recognized for their hard work throughout the year.

ECC’s chapter received the following awards:

Chapter Awards

  • Excellence in the Regional Service Project
  • Excellence in the Regional Honors in Action Project
  • Carolinas Super Stars
  • Five-Star Chapter
  • Distinguished College Project – Honorable Mention
  • Best eNewsletter
  • Best Yearbook

Individual Awards

  • Michael Parker Jr. – Hall of Honor Certificate
  • Margaret Nash – Alumni Hall of Honor Certificate
  • Michael Parker Jr. – Distinguished Chapter Member
  • Hattie Bullock – Distinguished Chapter Officer
  • Margaret Nash – Distinguished Chapter Alumni
  • Tamara Frank-Pourvady – Horizon Award (for advisors)

Edgecombe Community College’s honor society has been a Five-Star chapter since 1996 and a Carolinas Super Star chapter since this award was established in 2000. Typically, only about sixteen chapters in the two-state Carolinas Region achieve Five-Star and Super Star designation.

To be a member of Phi Theta Kappa, students must have completed twelve credit hours in an associate degree program and have a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher. Students must then maintain at least a 3.25 grade point average to remain in the group.