Student Portal


Honor Society Inducts Twenty-Six Students

Group of Phi Theta Kappa members

From left, new Phi Theta Kappa honor society members at Edgecombe Community College are (front row) Ruby Estabane, Gloria Whitaker, Kelsey Owens, Logan Burnette, Haley Bain, Taylor Redman, Brenda Goodwin, Megan Ecker, Staton Dupree, (back) Sa’Quin Winstead, Saul Cisneros, Allison Parks, Mona Perkins, Amy Jilcott, Mack Cherry, Ronese Whitley, and Holden Harrell. Inductees not shown are Keri Barrett, Kimberly Carter, Toni Coady, Tonya Edmond, Bailey Glover, Tekeyia Hinton, Bradley Parker, Madison Scott, and MarQuella Thompson.

Edgecombe Community College’s Alpha Omega Nu chapter of Phi Theta Kappa inducted 26 students into its membership during a November induction ceremony held on the Tarboro campus.

Phi Theta Kappa is an honor society for students attending two-year schools.

The guest speaker at the induction ceremony was Jennifer Derby, Early Childhood Education instructor. Derby received the college’s 2016-2017 Keihin Endowed Faculty Chair, which rewards excellence in teaching.

Fall 2016 Phi Theta Kappa inductees are Haley Bain, Keri Barrett, Logan Burnette, Kimberly Carter, Mack Cherry, Saul Cisneros, Toni Coady, Staton Dupree, Megan Ecker, Tonya Edmond, Ruby Estabane, Bailey Glover, Brenda Goodwin, Holden Harrell, Tekeyia Hinton, Amy Jilcott, Kelsey Owens, Bradley Parker, Allison Parks, Mona Perkins, Taylor Redman, Madison Scott, MarQuella Thompson, Gloria Whitaker, Ronese Whitley, and Sa’Quin Winstead.

Tamara Frank-Pourvady, a tutor at ECC, serves as advisor to the honor society.

To be a member of Phi Theta Kappa, students must have completed 12 credit hours in an associate degree program and have a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher. Students must then maintain at least a 3.25 grade point average to remain in the group.