Student Portal


ECC President Tapped for International Award

Dr. Greg McLeod, president of Edgecombe Community College, has won an international Paragon Award for New Presidents from Phi Theta Kappa honor society. He is one of only 22 college presidents worldwide selected for the distinction. Dr. McLeod (far right) is shown participating in a biannual Adopt-A-Highway event led by ECC’s Phi Theta Kappa chapter, Alpha Omega Nu.

Dr. Greg McLeod, president of Edgecombe Community College, is an international MVP.

On April 9, he was one of 22 college presidents worldwide selected to receive a Paragon Award for New Presidents, presented by Phi Theta Kappa, the honor society for students attending two-year schools. More than 500 college presidents were eligible to receive the award.

The award was presented during the honor society’s annual convention, held virtually April 8-10.

Paragon Awards are given to new college presidents who have shown strong support of student success by recognizing academic achievement, leadership, and service among high-achieving students at their college. Dr. McLeod was nominated by ECC’s Alpha Omega Nu chapter of Phi Theta Kappa (PTK).

PTK students have a 91 percent student success rate, and research has shown that strong presidential leadership and support of PTK increases member success and the depth of their college experience.

“This is an incredible honor!” Dr. McLeod says. “From the time I was inducted into Phi Theta Kappa in 2009 as an honorary member, to serving as the All-USA Academic team nominator for one of my previous college employers, to attending the annual convention in 2014, and now to serving as president of Edgecombe Community College, home to the great Alpha Omega Nu chapter led by outstanding chapter advisor Tamara Frank-Pourvady, I have grown personally and professionally in many ways thanks to Phi Theta Kappa. Thank you so much for this distinction.”

Dr. McLeod joined ECC as president in August 2018. “Since his arrival at ECC, Dr. McLeod has made it clear that Phi Theta Kappa is among his priorities,” says Frank-Pourvady. “He has been very supportive of our chapter and very involved with our events. He participates in our induction ceremonies, sends congratulatory emails to students who are new inductees, attends orientation sessions for new inductees, and works alongside faculty and students during our biannual Adopt-A-Highway events, to name just a few.”

Other staff at ECC have received international Phi Theta Kappa awards. In 2015, Tamara Frank-Pourvady, chapter advisor, received the International Continued Excellence Advisor Award. In 2012, she earned the International Distinguished Advisor Award. In 2014, Michael Jordan, vice president of student services, won an International Distinguished College Administrator Award.

Five Edgecombe Community College students have received International Distinguished Member Awards, including Robert “Chap” Lachapelle IV in 2019, Michael Parker Jr. in 2018, Melanie Goff Bradley in 2015, Phyllis Williams in 2007, and Teresa Webb in 2006. Melanie Goff Bradley also won an International Alumni Award.

To be a member of Phi Theta Kappa, students must have completed 12 credit hours in an associate degree program and have a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher. Students must then maintain at least a 3.25 grade point average to remain in the group.