Student Portal


ECC Honor Society Inducts 33 Students

Phi Theta Kappa Inductees

From left, new Phi Theta Kappa honor society members at Edgecombe Community College are (front row) Marquedra Whitted, Theola Ward, Quantayjia Ridley, Kiana Martin, Heather Pernell, Jacquea Ritter, Zenda Aguilar, (back) Zulekia Atkinson, Kelly Hardison, Melita Satterfield, Latisha Bond, Nicole Wainright, Emily Brake, Tracy Cannon, Anjali Patel, Sheila Cherry, Jacob Turner, (far back, right) Amy Addington, and Joseph Worsley.

Edgecombe Community College’s Alpha Omega Nu chapter of Phi Theta Kappa inducted 33 students into its membership during a spring induction ceremony held April 13 on the Rocky Mount campus.

Phi Theta Kappa is an honor society for students attending two-year schools.

The guest speaker at the induction ceremony was Rick Basile, program chair of Criminal Justice. Basile received the college’s 2015 Excellence in Teaching Award, and he advises the Criminal Justice Club and SkillsECC.

Spring 2016 Phi Theta Kappa inductees are Amy Addington, Zenda Aguilar, Zulekia Atkinson, Latisha Bond, Emily Brake, Tracy Cannon, Sheila Cherry, Marjorie Del Carmen, Kelly Hardison, Richard King, Monica Latham, Kiana Martin, Kelly Moore, Toria Moore, Bethany Parrish, Anjali Patel, Tamika Peoples, Heather Pernell, Deborah Rice, Quantayjia Ridley, Jacquea Ritter, Amanda Rouse, Melita Satterfield, Tracy Schilling, Tajia Staton, Jacob Turner, Nicole Wainright, Theola Ward, Marquedra Whitted, Phyllis Wilson, Samantha Wilson, Meta Wood, and Joseph Worsley.

Since 1994, when the chapter was chartered, Alpha Omega Nu has inducted over 1,000 ECC students. The addition of 33 new members brings the total to 1,046 student members.

Tamara Frank-Pourvady, a professional tutor at ECC, serves as advisor to the honor society.

To be a member of Phi Theta Kappa, students must have completed 12 credit hours in an associate degree program and have a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher. Students must then maintain at least a 3.25 grade point average to remain in the group.