Medical Assisting Certification Exam Review

Medical Assisting Certification Exam Review (MED3008) reviews the three aspects of medical assisting: clinical, administrative, and laboratory for the student to begin preparation for national certification. The course includes review of anatomy physiology, medical terminology, psychology, ethics, pharmacology, and clinical and administrative aspects of medical assisting. Successful completion of this course does not guarantee passing outcomes on the National Exam. Faculty provide the course who successfully prepare students for the national exam with positive outcomes.

Graduates from an accredited Medical Assistant program within the last 5 years who have never tested or who have tested twice (they have one remaining attempt to get certified without having to repeat a program). Working (non-certified) medical assistants who have been working in the medical office setting performing medical assisting duties within the past ten years, who need review and preparation for a Medical Assistant national certification exam, This person may have never tested or have taken the exam twice and has one remaining attempt.

Requirements

  • Participation in an intensive Moodle and class orientation the first night of class to prepare for a successful course completion.
  • Internet access is required to complete the online portions of the course and is available at the College’s Learning Resource Center.
  • Students must communicate with Kim Byron-Barnes or Julie Turner to determine eligibility prior to registering for the class.
  • An initialed copy of eligibility or an email from Kim Byron-Barnes or Julie Turner must accompany the student’s registration form.
  • Must be eligible to sit for these certifications: CMA (AAMA), RMT (AMT), NCMA (NCCT), CCMA (NHA).

Schedule

View upcoming classes

Tuition & Fees

$125 is required at time of registration. Students must have completed the eligibility process with Kim Byron-Barnes or Julie Turner prior to registration.

Contact

Kim Byron-Barnes
barnesk@edgecombe.edu
(252) 823-5166, ext. 533

Julie Turner
turnerj@edgecombe.edu

Gwen Hyman
hymang@edgecombe.edu
(252) 823-5166, ext. 357

Sharon Green
greens@edgecombe.edu
(252) 823-5166, ext. 356

Yahee Armfield
armfieldy@edgecombe.edu
(252) 823-5166, ext. 293

Kim Lucas
lucask@edgecombe.edu
(252) 823-5166, ext. 518